Why Netbeans is best for MIDlets

I’ve been using the Netbeans IDE for years now, but I have never been so impressed with any piece of software as I am today. I’ve been developing a MIDlet the past two days using the Mobility Pack, and I am nothing but impressed. In case you havn’t gotten the picture yet: this is very very impressive IDE. The MIDlet I’m developing uses a web-application to retrieve data and display it to the user. It’s a nice interface onto a CRUD application. The product has a web-service, but that is a strictly “write only” service. I was just going to create a new class to start working on stubs for the back-end application when an icon caught my eye:

In my experience Netbeans generated code is of a very high quality, taking into account situations I would generally not bother with, or not even think of. So I clicked and was greeted by a lovely Netbeans wizard (see below) asking me which Web-Project my MIDlet was going to talk to.

I already had my “HomePage” project open, so I gave the wizard the package I wanted to use and a name for the servlet. I wasn’t actually ready for the next tab though: I didn’t have any real model code ready, and I really didn’t expect what I was going to see next though.

You simply select the methods you want to be able to invoke and the wizard generates all the code. Now for the really impressive parts:

  • The code generated is session aware, you don’t have to bother with maintaining session cookies
  • It generates a configuration file the can be used (with a lovely editor) to regenerate the Servlet and Stubs
  • It can generate an example MIDlet that uses the generated code

This is but a tiny portion of the awesome functionality that the Mobility Pack gives you, other highlights for me include:

  • A work flow editor to organize which commands link to which screens
  • A GUI editor for building screens
  • Lovely support for building deployment descriptors etc.
2 Responses to “Why Netbeans is best for MIDlets”

  1. Pablo Says:

    What does the midlet do exactly and how does it interact with your webapp?

  2. Jason Says:

    Unfortunately I’m not actually allowed to say, since it’s for work and quite a hush hush project still.


Leave a Reply

